SEAC (pronounced “seek”) is an acronym for Special Education Advisory Council, a group that provides input on special education issues to its local school district. Its purpose is to advise and advocate, not to decide policy. Minnesota law requires each school district to have a SEAC which could be offered in cooperation with an education district.  The law does not specify how the group should be organized or what duties they should perform. Each SEAC may have a unique mission and structure.


Increase the awareness of parents of children with disabilities in district policy and decision making, collaborate with districts on policies and decisions affecting and/or related to special education, recommend priorities to be addressed by the district in annual and long-term strategic plans, encourage parent-involvement opportunities, addressing children with special needs, build collaboration between the special education team which includes parents, general and special education professionals.


Each Member District and School is served by an HVED Director of Special Education who monitors and supports special education services in each district and school.

Amy York, Ph.D.
River Valley Academy 51 Red School Lane, Kellogg, MN 55945 507.767.1022 Minnesota Virtual Academy, Wabasha-Kellogg, and SAIL


Clover Schmitt, Ph.D. cschmitt@hved.org
La Crescent-Hokah Secondary School
1301 Lancer Blvd, La Crescent, MN 55947 507.730.2485 Caledonia, La Crescent-Hokah, RVA-ALC and SPECTRUM


Tracy Tweeten-Lind, Ed.S. ttweeten-lind@hved.org
Rushford-Peterson Schools
1000 Pine Meadows Lane, Rushford, MN 55971
507.459.0576 Bluffview Montessori, Houston, Lanesboro, Lewiston-Altura, Mabel-Canton, Ridgeway Community School, Rollingstone Community School, Rushford-Peterson, and Spring Grove


Zach Selnes, Ed. S.
Dover-Eyota Elementary School
27 Knowledge Road SE
Eyota, MN 55934
Chatfield, Dover-Eyota, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, St. Charles,and Early Intervention (Birth to age 3)

Contact: SEAC