Special Education Advisory Council (SEAC)


SEAC (pronounced “seek”) is an acronym for Special Education Advisory Council, a group that provides input on special education issues to its local school district. Its purpose is to advise and advocate, not to decide policy. Minnesota law requires each school district in the state to have a SEAC although it does not specify how the groups should be organized or what duties they should perform. As a result, each SEAC may have a unique mission and structure.


Increase the awareness of parents of children with disabilities in district policy and decision making, collaborate with districts on policies and decisions affecting and/or related to special education, recommend priorities to be addressed by the district in annual and long-term strategic plans, encourage parent-involvement opportunities, addressing children with special needs, build collaboration between the special education team which includes parents, general and special education professionals.


Each Member District and School is served by an HVED Director of Special Education who monitors and supports special education services in each district and school.

Amy York, Ph.D.
River Valley Academy
51 Red School Lane, Kellogg, MN 55945
Wabasha-Kellogg, SAIL, and ALC

Scott Moline, Ed.S.
La Crescent-Hokah Secondary School
1301 Lancer Blvd, La Crescent, MN 55947
Caledonia, La Crescent-Hokah, ACHIEVE, and SPECTRUM

Gary Jones, M.S.
Chatfield Elementary School
11555 Hillside Drive SE, Chatfield, MN 55923
Chatfield, Dover-Eyota, Lewiston-Altura, St. Charles, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, and Bluffview Montessori

Tracy Tweeten-Lind, Ed. S.
Rushford-Peterson Schools
1000 Pine Meadows Lane, Rushford, MN 55971
Houston/MNVA, Lanesboro, Rushford-Peterson, Mabel-Canton, Spring Grove, Ridgeway Community School,
and Birth to Age 3 Program 


Contact: SEAC